Close Menu
La Plata & Waldorf Criminal Defense Lawyer
The Charles County Criminal Defense Firm Hablamos Español 301-259-3488
La Plata & Waldorf Criminal Defense > La Plata & Waldorf DUI & DWI Lawyer

La Plata & Waldorf DUI & DWI Lawyer

Legal Aid For Drunk Driving

At the Law Office of Hammad S. Matin, P.A., our criminal defense practice concentrates heavily on representing people charged with Driving Under the Influence (DUI) or Driving While Impaired (DWI) in La Plata, Maryland. Our La Plata & Waldorf DUI & DWI lawyers provide legal advice if you have gotten pulled over for drunk driving in La Plata, MD.

Considering how many people are killed by drunk drivers every year, it should come as no surprise that drinking and driving is a very serious offense. That said, the circumstances leading up to a DUI or DWI arrest are often very complicated, and deserve to be thoroughly examined by a criminal defense attorney. If you or a loved one has recently been arrested for drinking and driving, consider contacting The Law Office of Hammad S. Matin P.A. Mr. Matin is a criminal defense attorney in La Plata who can help get your sentence reduced or your charges dropped completely.

DUI and DWI Laws

All Maryland drivers should have a decent understanding of the laws surrounding drinking and driving. Here’s a brief look at DWI and DUI laws, including an explanation of the differences between the two.

  • Underage Drinking: If an underage driver is caught with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02%, he or she may be arrested and charged. Refusal to take a blood test may result in an automatic license revocation.
  • Driving While Intoxicated: Though DWI is less serious than DUI, a DWI conviction can still lead to hefty consequences. A driver with a BAC of .04% to .08% may be charged with DWI.
  • Driving Under the Influence: A driver with a BAC of .08% or more may be charged with DUI. A DUI charge may be treated as a misdemeanor or felony depending on whether it’s a repeat offense or if an accident was involved.

Potential Consequences of DUI/DWI Conviction

Maryland has some of the steepest drunk driving penalties in America. The DUI attorneys at the Law Office of Hammad S. Matin, P.A. can help minimize your penalties or have your case dismissed altogether. Penalties for a DUI/DWI conviction in Maryland include:

  • Fines and Penalties – Your first DUI conviction is punishable by up to $1,000 in fines and penalties. Second and third offenses carry penalties of $2,000 and $3,000, respectively. DWI convictions are punishable by up to $500 in fines and penalties.
  • License Suspension – First-time DUI and DWI convictions will result in the suspension of your license for a minimum of six months. The second offense will result in a suspension of your license for one year, and the third offense is punishable by 18 months.
  • Ignition Interlock Device – An ignition interlock device (IID) is connected to the engine and requires that a driver breath into the device prior to starting the vehicle. If the IID detects a BAC above the programmed limit, the engine will not start. IIDs are required for second and third DUI/DWI convictions.
  • Jail – A DUI conviction carries jail time up to one year for first-time offenders, up to two years for second offenses, and up to three years for third offenses. A first DWI offense is punishable by up to two months in jail, and a second offense up to one year.

Legal Defenses to Drunk Driving

In a DUI or DWI case, the prosecution must prove that 1) the person being charged drove a vehicle and 2) did so while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs. Defense strategies typically focus on either the driving aspect or arrest procedures to find a weakness in the state’s case. If you are arrested for a DUI or DWI in Charles County, contact the Law Office of Hammad S. Matin, P.A. for the best possible outcome. Call us at (240) 776-6305 to schedule your initial consultation with a DWI attorney in La Plata.

DWI & DUI Charges May Require Legal Advice

Any criminal arrest is a serious matter, and DUI/DWI is no different. A drunk driving conviction can result in up to a year in jail and $1,000 in fines, and this is just if it is your first offense. Even a first conviction for DWI, where your blood alcohol concentration was less than .07%, can lead to up to 2 months in jail and $500 in fines. Our DWI lawyer provides legal aid to make sure those consequences are avoided. Fortunately, you often have defenses available, and even if a conviction cannot be avoided, a skilled DUI lawyer can negotiate a much less harsh result than may otherwise be sought by the prosecutor or imposed by the judge.

Why Do I Need a Lawyer for My DUI?

DUI is a very serious criminal charge with severe consequences. It’s possible you can avoid some or all these consequences with the help of an experienced DUI defense attorney.

Too many people charged with DUI do not hire a defense attorney and simply accept the punishment doled out to them by the state. Maybe it’s because they’ve tested over the legal limit, so they don’t think they can challenge the DUI. In fact, there are a number of different ways to fight and refute DUI charges, and you could avoid large fines, jail time, a black mark on your record—all of it—by taking advantage of a DUI defense lawyer’s expertise. Plus, your first consultation at The Law Office of Hammad S. Matin, P.A. is free, so you have nothing to lose by speaking to a DUI defense lawyer in our office and weighing your options for handling your DUI charges.

A DUI defense attorney can represent you in administrative proceedings and help you keep your driving privileges.

Imagine trying to get to work, shop for groceries, or pick your kids up from school when you have no driving privileges at all. DUI charges in Maryland carry a mandatory license suspension, but you can get a temporary driver’s license after your DUI arrest and request an administrative hearing to keep your driver’s license. Those facing DUI charges regularly make the mistake of believing that because a police officer confiscated their driver’s license during the arrest, they do not have an opportunity to reacquire it until they go to court and plead their case. This is not true. A skilled DUI attorney can request an administrative hearing, at which time he or she may be able to convince the Motor Vehicle Administration representative that you should be allowed to keep your driver’s license.

DUI charges often benefit from negotiating with the prosecution. Experienced DUI defense lawyers know how to negotiate, and when trial is a better option.

Every DUI case is different, but many result in negotiations that might include a plea deal or other compromise. DUI defense lawyers have extensive experience negotiating such deals, and a good negotiation can save you from jail time and other more severe penalties. If your best option is to fight your DUI charge in court, an experienced lawyer can present a strong case on your behalf and protect your right to a fair trial. With an expert advocate on your side, you can face your DUI charge with confidence and move on with your life.

If you are facing DUI charges, consulting a lawyer is not only smart, it’s essential for truly understanding your legal options.

DUI cases are more complex and complicated to defend than many felony charges. The number of DUI cases successfully defended over a long period of time is how a lawyer becomes skilled at DUI defense. At The Law Office of Hammad S. Matin, P.A., we have handled thousands of DUI cases and represented clients in hundreds of trials. We can help you, too. Do not wait to call us after being arrested for DUI in Maryland—it will only hurt your case and mean more stress for you. Remember, your first consultation is free.

You Will Need A Maryland DWI Lawyer

If you fail a test, your license is subject to a 45-day suspension, or a 90-day suspension if this is not your first offense. You have the right to request a hearing before your license is suspended, but the time frame for making this request is very short. In order to prevent the suspension from taking place, you must request a hearing within ten days of when you were stopped. It is possible to request a hearing up to 30 days from the date of the stop, but the suspension will likely be implemented before your hearing date. If you want to have the chance of a hearing before any suspension is begun, you must request the hearing within those first ten days.

The hearing is an administrative hearing before the Maryland Office of Administrative Hearings (OAH). This is a formal hearing that is very much like a trial in court before a judge, although rules of evidence and procedure are somewhat difference. At this hearing, your DUI lawyer gives legal aid and may be able to show cause why your license should not be suspended, prove that the case does not meet the proper legal requirements, or seek to have the suspension modified.

Legal Skill & Experience With Legal Services Matters

If you have been arrested for DUI/DWI, there are numerous ways our law office can help. Our experienced DUI lawyer in La Plata, MD can fight the charges in court and seek to have the case dismissed or avoid a conviction. We can also represent you at an MVA hearing, where we can work to keep your license from being suspended or help you get a restricted license. If you are arrested for DUI/DWI in La Plata, MD, immediately contact our La Plata & Waldorf DUI/DWI lawyers at the Law Office of Hammad S. Matin, P.A. for legal advice and the best possible outcome.

301-259-3488
Share This Page:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Google Plus