Skip to main content

Exit WCAG Theme

Switch to Non-ADA Website

Accessibility Options

Select Text Sizes

Select Text Color

Website Accessibility Information Close Options
Close Menu
The Law Office of Hammad S. Matin, P.A. The Charles County Criminal Defense Firm
  • The Charles County Criminal Defense Firm
  • ~
  • Hablamos Español

The Consequences of DUI in Maryland

DUIs are notoriously expensive and incredibly inconvenient, since the first offense can put 12 points on your license, causing it to be revoked even with no prior traffic violations. You will also have to attend a court date following your arrest, which means that you will want a DUI lawyer on your side. Individuals with DUI infractions are expected to seek legal representation prior to court appearances, and in some cases, lawyers may help negotiate a more favorable punishment. However, with Maryland state minimums on DUI charges, you can expect to pay fairly significantly for a DUI.

Arrest and detention

When you are arrested for DUI, you will likely be taken to a jail cell to sober up while your car is towed and impounded. An arrest will occur if you blow over a 0.08% on a breathalyzer or fail field sobriety tests. You may refuse these tests, but your license will be suspended, even if you are not guilty of a crime.

License revocation

If you are arrested for a DUI, your license may be taken at the time of your arrest or when you are brought to jail, depending on the preference of the arresting officer. You will not be able to drive legally again until you have gone to court, paid your fines, and attended alcohol education courses before reapplying for a driver’s license.

Monetary fines

You will face fines between $1,000 and $2,000, but this only scratches the surface of possible DUI expenses. You will have to pay for your car’s towing and impounding fees, auto insurance rate hikes over several years, and fees associated with required classes and court appearances.

Alcohol education courses

Maryland has a mandatory Alcohol Education Program that must be completed for drivers seeking a new license following a DUI. This program is intended to reduce future drunk driving incidents and spot individuals who may require more intensive therapy for alcohol abuse.

With these severe consequences hanging in the balance, you will want to have an experienced defense attorney on your side so that you do not pay more than you have to for a DUI. Still, the best defense against a DUI is safe driving practices—including taking a cab when you know you’ve had too much to drink.

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

By submitting this form I acknowledge that form submissions via this website do not create an attorney-client relationship, and any information I send is not protected by attorney-client privilege.

Skip footer and go back to main navigation